Project Description

Central America Tourism Agency

About the Central America Tourism Agency: The Central America Tourism Agency (CATA) based in San Salvador was founded in 2002. The member states are Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

With 46 million inhabitants on a total area of around 523,000 square kilometers, the seven countries occupy just one percent of the earth’s surface. At the same time, Central America is one of the regions with the highest biodiversity in the world. More than 550 nature reserves and 109 volcanoes cover the entire region. Last but not least, the unique location between North and South America contributes to the fact that the seven states are home to a total of eight percent of the world’s biological diversity and that the world’s second largest reef system can be found directly at the gates of Central America.

Factsheet (PDF)

Press contact:
KPRN network GmbH
Julia Thiemann/ Valerie von Oppeln
Hamburger Allee 45
60486 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: +49 (69) 719 136 -31
Fax: +49 (69) 719 136 -51
E-Mail: /

Photo gallery